1. Distinguished Researcher of the Year Award in Natural Sciences and Engineering, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2020
  2. Editor-in-Chief at Large, IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, 2019
  3. Our paper on GaN-FET based differential-mode inverter selected as 1 of the 2 best papers for May 2018 IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics Issue, 2018 (Paper Link)
  4. Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE Power Electronics Society (PELS), 2016 (Video Link)
  5. Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), 2016
  6. Best Paper Presentation, respectively, at IEEE APEC, IEEE IECON, and IEEE IECON, 2015, 2012, 2003
  7. Inventor of the Year Award, University of Illinois at Chicago (awarded to only 1 recipient each year), 2014 (award ceremony pictures) (UIC News)
  8. University Scholar Award (highest award of the university), University of Illinois (sole engineering recipient in all 3 campuses), 2013 (letter) (award ceremony picture)
  9. Best Paper Award at the IEEE International Symposium on Power Electronics and Distributed Generation, 2013
  10. Teaching Recognition Program (TRP) Award, Council for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, University of Illinois, Chicago, 2011
  11. Certificate of Recognition from the IEEE Trans. on Industrial Electronics for Outstanding Contribution as an Associate Editor to elevate the ranking of the transaction to number one in terms of impact factor, 2009
  12. Faculty Research Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activities at University of Illinois at Chicago, 2008, 2006
  13. Outstanding Paper Award, IEEE International Conference on Advanced Information Networking, 2007
  14. IEEE International Future Energy Challenge Award – first among U.S. universities, 2005
  15. Young Investigator Award, Office of Naval Research, 2005 (One of the most prestigious awards for a tenure-track professor n USA)
  16. CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, 2003 (One of the most prestigious awards for a tenure-track professor n USA)
  17. Prize Paper Award, IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, 2002
  18. Received about 50 sponsored projects – PI in majority of them, 2001-to date
  19. Olympiad Award for outstanding performance in mathematics, Math. Society of India, 1984
  20. National Merit Scholar (ranked 9th out of 250,000 students), India, 1983