Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


About Dr. Sudip K. Mazumder Heading link


Sudip K. Mazumder is a UIC Distinguished Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) and is the Director of Laboratory for Energy and Switching-Electronics Systems (LESES). He has over 30 years of professional experience and has held R&D and design positions in leading industrial organizations and has served as Technical Consultant for several industries. He also serves as the President of NextWatt LLC, a small business organization that he setup in 2008.

He received his Ph.D. degree from Virginia Tech in 2001 and the M.S. degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) in 1993. At Virginia Tech, he conducted his Doctoral work under the joint supervision of Prof. Dushan Boroyevich, a Member of U.S. National Academy of Engineering, Past President of IEEE Power Electronics Society, and a renowned leader in power electronics, and Prof. Ali H. Nayfeh, regarded as the most influential scholar and scientist in the area of applied nonlinear dynamics in mechanics and engineering. He also worked under the guidance of Prof. Fred C. Lee, a Member of U.S. National Academy of Engineering, Past President of IEEE Power Electronics Society, and one of the most influential researchers in power electronics.

His current areas of research interests are a) Switching-sequence and switching-transition based control of power-electronic systems and networks; b) Power electronics for renewable energy, electric vehicles and energy storage, and micro/smart grid; and c) Optically-triggered wide-bandgap power-electronics device and control technologies and SiC and GaN device based high-frequency and high-voltage power electronics. He has made original contributions to the areas of multi-scale control and analysis of power-electronic systems, control of power-electronic systems at the semiconductor device level for numerous and wide-ranging applications in commercial and defense space; high-frequency-link power electronics, including hybrid-modulation-based pulsating-dc-link inverter and differential-mode-converter (ac/ac, dc/ac, ac/dc) topologies for applications encompassing but not limited to renewable and alternative energy, electric vehicles, solid-state transformer, energy storage, and offshore wind; discretized high-frequency and Boolean energy and data transfer; and optically-controlled power semiconductor devices (including optical emitter turn-off thyristor, heterojunction devices, high-gain bipolar devices, and hybrid and monolithic photoconductive semiconductor switches (PCSS)) and power electronics.

Since joining UIC in 2001, He has been awarded about 62 sponsored projects by NSF, DOE, ONR, ARPA-E, CEC, EPA, AFRL, NASA, NAVSEA, and multiple leading industries. He has published around 300 refereed papers in prestigious journals and conferences, has published 1 book and 11 book chapters, and has 13 issued and multiple pending patents. He has presented 125 keynote, plenary, distinguished, and invited presentations at leading international conferences, organizations and institutions and currently, he also holds 10 issued patents with several pending.

He was named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in 2016 and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2020 for his contributions encompassing multi-scale control of power-electronic systems. He is also a Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association (AAIA) since 2022. He served as a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Power Electronics Society (2016-2019) and since 2021 serving as a Regional Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Power Electronics Society for the US region. He is the current Editor-at-Large for IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, the leading journal in power electronics. Currently/ previously, he also serves/served as the Guest Editor-in-Chief/Editor and Editorial Board Member for multiple prestigious IEEE and other Transactions. He was also the First Editor-in-Chief of Advances in Power Electronics.

He is the recipient of the 2023 IEEE Power & Energy Society’s Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award “for contributions to high frequency link power conversion and control technologies for renewable energy”. He received several IEEE awards/honors, including IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics Prize Paper Awards (2022, 2002) and Highlighted Papers (2023, 2022, 2018), Cover Featured Article for the December 2023 issue of IEEE Power Electronics Magazine (2023), Featured Article for IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering (2023), IEEE Conference Best Paper Award (2013), IEEE Outstanding Paper Award (2007), and IEEE International Future Energy Challenge Award (2005). He also received Stanford University’s top-2% most-influential-scientist recognition (2022-2023) and Elsevier recognition for being top 2% researcher in their fields for career-long productivity as well as top 2% researcher with single-year impact (2021-2023). Earlier, he also received the Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator Award and the National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award in 2005 and 2003, respectively.

At the University of Illinois Chicago, he received the most prestigious awards of the university including the Distinguished Researcher of the Year Award in Natural Sciences and Engineering (2020), Inventor of the Year Award (2014), and University Scholar Award (2013). Additionally, he also received the Graduate Mentoring Award (2023), Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence (HOPE) Award (2021),  Teaching Recognition Program Award (2011), and Faculty Research Award (2006, 2008).

He was the General Chair and Technical Chair for IEEE 14th and 12th International Symposium on Power Electronics for Distributed Generation Systems (PEDG 2023, PEDG 2021), respectively. He served/serves as the General Co-Chair for ECCE (2024) and TPC Chair for IECON (2024), DEAS (2019), WiPDA (2016), and PEDG (2013). He served for six years as the Chair for IEEE Power Electronics Society’s Technical Committee (TC5) on Sustainable Energy Systems. He served as a Vice Chair for IEEE Power Electronics Society’s Technical Committee (TC1) on Modeling and Control between 2020-2022.  He is an Administrative Committee Member for IEEE Power Electronics Society between 2015-2025 and a Member-at-Large for the same society between 2020-2025.

Regarding professional consulting opportunities, please contact Dr. Mazumder directly for further discussions here.


Research Expertise & Interests

Teaching Experience